In April, 37 students and one faculty member were inducted into the Golden Chain Honor Society. Golden Chain,  founded in 1948, is unique to UNCG.

Golden Chain was organized to recognize students who have made significant and meaningful contributions to the university community. From the beginning, the students inducted have been those who served UNCG and their fellow students in quiet as well as prominent ways.

The seven links of the chain symbolize the qualities that have always been prerequisite for the election to membership: leadership, scholarship, service, tolerance, judgment, magnanimity and character. Juniors and seniors with a GPA of 3.25 or greater are eligible.

Dr. Patrick Lee Lucas, professor of interior architecture, was inducted as an honorary member for his service to the university. Lucas, who has been at UNCG for 11 years, departs for the University of Kentucky this summer.

The newest students members of Golden Chain are: Kia L. Barrett, Victoria Basile, Chrissy R. Beanblossom, Anna M. Beard, Chelsea Boccardo, Kelsey N. Budine, Zachary Cordell, Taylor James Day, Daniella P. DeGeorge, Sandra M. Elliott, Leslie Reshel Marie Ellison, Kelley Auburn Fore, Emily E. Gering, Linda Esperanza Guzman, Sarah Hannah Harris,  Wade Gray Harrison, Natalie Hellman, Ananya Huria, Natalie B. Jones, Luis A. Juarez,  Stephanie La, Elizabeth C. D. Launt, Kimberly M. Marble, Brian Matthews, Kelly R. Montague, Matthew K. Moss, Daniel Nasrallah, Stephanie A. Orosco-Sauceda, Laura Owens, Molly Rose Reininger, Amanda Marie Richards, Benoit D. Sabourin, Ismael Santillano, Katrenia R. Shelly, Jessica L. Straehle, Meredith M. Swain and Taylor Wilson.