Faculty members at UNCG have received awards for teaching excellence for the 2005-06 year.

The winners each received a $1,000 prize during events in April, early May or at ceremonies over the May 12-13 commencement weekend. Funding for the awards is provided by UNC General Administration, which allocates money for all 16 campuses in the UNC system to reward faculty members for excellence in teaching within academic colleges and professional schools.

UNCG winners are:

  • College of Arts and Sciences, Dr. Roberto E. Campo, associate professor, Department of Romance Languages.
  • School of Education, co-winners Dr. Julie Hersberger, associate professor, Department of Library and Information Studies, and Dr. Jose Villalba, associate professor, Department of Counseling and Educational Development.
  • Bryan School of Business and Economics, Dr. Kevin B. Lowe, associate professor, Department of Business Administration, and Dr. Eloise M. Hassell, lecturer, Department of Business Administration.
  • School of Health and Human Performance, Dr. Nancy J. Gladwell, associate professor, Department of Recreation, Tourism and Hospitality Management.
  • School of Music, Steve Haines, assistant professor.
  • School of Nursing, Debra Stanford, clinical instructor, Department of Parent-Child Nursing.
  • School of Human Environmental Sciences, Dr. John C. Rife, professor, Department of Social Work.